Domesticity

“Julie,” I hear my faithful readers asking, “why on Earth were you browning ground beef and chopping veggies at 11 at night?”

I’ll tell you, faithful readers, but only because you asked nicely. I was browning ground beef and chopping veggies to prepare tomorrow’s chilli.

“Why on Earth,” I hear you rejoin, “did you have to do it at 11 at night?”

Ah, well, that’s the tricky bit. It’s because I need to put it in the crock pot tomorrow morning, and I didn’t have time to do earlier today.

Perhaps I should back up a few paces.

You see, Marc and I have been eating truly horribly this week. Between leftover cookies from his mom’s holiday dinners, several occasions of cake, eating out at Dragon Rouge, etc., we’ve just been eating all the wrong types of food way too often. So we made a pact that we would start eating better.

Now, my problem is that by the time I get home from work (generally around 7 pm), I’m too friggin’ hungry to want to cook. I just want to eat.

Enter potential problem solver #1: the crock pot. I’ve had a crock pot for a number of years, and for a number of years it’s been sitting on the shelf gathering dust. I figured that one way to solve the whole “am home, want food” issue would be to start using my crock pot. Marc and I agreed that we’d try one or two recipes this week, to whit: chilli and a chicken stew. Tomorrow is going to be our first chilli night.

Now, I know that you’re supposed to put the stuff in the crock pot in the morning, and I knew that I really wouldn’t want to start “cooking” tomorrow morning, so I figured I’d prep everything today. (You can do that. I’ve learned these things.) Well, between breakfast with Marc’s family until noon, a small grocery run, cleaning the apartment, gaming at 2:00 (well, it was called for two and I was ready at two; it started at four), and doing laundry at my mom’s place until 9:45, I didn’t really get home until 10:00, and by the time I’d eaten dinner, it was 10:30. By the time I got my recipe book out and cleaned the dust off the crock pot, it was 10:45.

You’d figure that opening three cans, browning some ground beef, and chopping two onions, a green pepper, and some garlic wouldn’t take that long. I suppose if you knew what you were doing, it wouldn’t. But for me, it took 45 minutes. And then another 15 minutes to do clean-up. Which is why I only started writing this post at 11:45. I just hope the result is worth it.

I’ve also got four milk crates of books I took back from my mom’s place tonight that really should go into the bookshelves, but I’m not sure I’m feeling that industrious tonight. It’ll wait until tomorrow morning. On the flip-side, I really should put away my laundry tonight, though.

All things considered, I’ve been feeling very domestic the last few days. Between dishes, cleaning, setting up the apartment, etc., I’ve just felt… domestic is the best word I can think of. Like the apartment and I are still sizing each other up, going, “So where, exactly, are the limits gonna be of this nascent relationship?” I do dishes, suddenly there are more in the sink. I empty some boxes, suddenly there are more boxes or bags with stuff to put away. I sweep the floor, suddenly it’s dusty again. I imagine my apartment as a temperamental two-year-old going, “Pay attention to ME!”

I’m hoping this feeling will pass as I settle in. Finding time to do food prep when it’s not 11:30 at night will help.

Anyway, I think it’s time for bed. Boxes will wait until tomorrow. G’night all.

Tagged: , ,

Leave a Reply

