Roasted butternut squash

It’s the weekend! And you know what that means: it’s time for another adventure in cooking!

This week’s adventure is brought to us by butternut squash, which are on sale everywhere and which I’ve always wanted to try cooking. I’ve had a 4-lb (or thereabouts) butternut squash sitting on my kitchen table since Tuesday, just begging to be turned into something tasty and edible, and today I decided to take up the challenge.

The plan of attack: peel the butternut squash, cut it open, scoop out the seeds, cut it into 1″ (or thereabouts) cubes, put those cubes on a baking sheet, drizzle with olive oil, sprinkle with salt, pepper, and cinnamon (lots and LOTS of cinnamon), and bake at 425 (actually 450… I keep forgetting how hot my oven is) for about 35 minutes.

Final verdict: very tasty. This one’s a winner, folks! (And I’ve even got half the squash cut up and ready for tomorrow!)

On the other hand, here are some lessons I learned from today:
1. Butternut squash is slippery. Don’t ask me how many pieces I had to pick up off the floor and rinse off.
2. When cutting butternut squash, it’s best to have the proper knife for the job. I don’t. There was a lot of knife-levering action going on.
3. Handling butternut squash dries out my hands. A lot. I probably peeled off the first three layers of skin on the fingertips of my left hand. Next time: wear gloves.
4. My plates are not big enough to hold one 4-lb butternut squash worth of cubes. Thank goodness for mixing bowls.

So… tasty, but with fingertip casualties. Next time: definitely gloves. On the other hand, I highly recommend this one. Marc suggested that it might be good as a pseudo mashed potato, also. Anyone got a recipe for me that I can try?

Tagged: ,

Leave a Reply

