Banana bread (redux)

Some of you might remember the last time that I made banana bread. That was the first time I was really using my oven, and I didn’t know two important things: 1) My oven runs 50 degrees hot, and 2) Cooking in pyrex requires you to set the temperature 25 degrees lower than normal. Back then, it came out two-tone (darker on top than on the bottom), but still tasty.

So when I decided to make banana bread yesterday, to be ready for the shabbat dinner I’m hosting tonight, I figured I had all the problems licked. Note to self: Never, ever assume this.

I set the temperature right. I took it out of the oven at the right time. It looked tasty. But herein lies my mistake. You see, my dear readers, I needed to leave the house almost immediately after taking it out of the oven. Because we occasionally get bugs in the kitchen (a problem we haven’t quite beat yet), I didn’t want to leave out the banana bread uncovered. I knew that if I put plastic wrap around it, the plastic would probably melt. Instead, I covered the loaf with aluminium foil and left the house.

When I came back many hours later and lifted off the foil, I found a layer of condensation on the foil and a small pool of moisture on the top of the loaf. Boo! I let it air out overnight, bugs be damned (they don’t usually venture onto the stove anyway), and hopefully it’ll still be tasty. More news as it develops.

But still, it was one of those, “I should have thought of that” moments. Grr…

Tagged: , ,

Leave a Reply

