Cranberry corn bread

About a week and a half ago, I picked up some cranberries at the Jean Talon Market. And despite the very tasty cranberry-lemon scones I made last week, I still had about half the cranberries left. Now, I had been planning on making cranberry sauce, but that’s so boring. And besides, what would I eat it with? So a bit of internet searching brought me to this recipe for cranberry corn bread, which looks very tasty and is also highly rated.

I pretty much followed the recipe exactly, except that I went a bit heavy on the cranberries (probably about 1 1/2 cups) to finish off what I had left, and also I didn’t halve them. Hopefully it won’t make too much of a difference.

Oh, and I didn’t use a food processor.

“Julie,” I hear my faithful readers thinking (because I can hear you over the computer, you know), “do you really hate cleaning your food processor so much that you’ll willingly exhaust your arm and have prep take ten times as long just so you don’t have to wash it?”

Yes. Yes, I do.

Creaming the butter was the hardest part, because it had only been softening on the counter for about 30-45 minutes and wasn’t quite as soft as I might have ideally wanted it when I started. Otherwise, it was fine. A lot of arm workout as I mixed the whole thing again, and again, and again, but it was fine. And all I have to clean is bowls and forks, and not the fiddly annoying parts of the food processor.

Oh, the other difference is that I used a 7 x 11 pyrex pan instead of a 9 x 9 baking dish, because it’s what I’ve got. (And, yes, I now know to turn the temperature down 25 degrees when using pyrex.) I figure the surface areas are about the same (77 square inches vs. 81).

Put it in the oven at 5:00. The batter is very tasty. (Always a good sign.) Started to check after 35 minutes, just in case the different type of dish made a big difference. It wasn’t quite ready (almost, though), but oh, man, did it smell good! My kitchen smells awesome! In the end, it took about 40 minutes to cook, which is about what the recipe called for anyway.

Anyway, out of the oven and cooled a little, and the final verdict is… Oh, baby, this is awesome! This is probably one of the most awesome things I’ve ever made. Definitely a keeper.

Tagged: , , ,

Leave a Reply

