Chocolate chip cookies (redux)

In anticipation of the holidays, I decided to try the same chocolate chip cookie recipe that I tried last week, with two important differences: 1. it only chilled for two hours instead of a day and a half, and 2. I baked them for 9 minutes instead of 11.

I think, on the whole, the results were positive. They cookies still didn’t spread nearly as much as I anticipated (though slightly more than last week), but cooking them less time definitely helped. They looked not-quite-done when I took them out of the oven, but they darkened as they sat on the pan for an extra minute or two and came out extremely tasty. I think this will be the recipe I use for Christmas cookies this year.

In semi-related news: Buttered Rum tea from DavidsTea, with a little milk and a heaping tablespoon of the “spiced butter” featured in their newsletter (1/2 cup butter, 2 cups brown sugar, 1 tsp cinnamon, 1/2 tsp nutmeg, pinch ground cloves, pinch salt) is perhaps one of the tastiest drinks I’ve consumed in a long, long time. Oh, baby, it’s good. Just thought you should all know that.

Tagged: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

