Pumpkin muffins

As part of my “experimental dessert day” last week, I wound up with about a cup and a half of pumpkin puree sitting in my fridge. I had no idea what to do with it until Marc’s mom mentioned that she had a really great recipe for pumpkin muffins. It’s one of Marc’s favorites, too, so my decision was easy.

I made a 3/4 batch, due to the amount of pumpkin puree I had on hand. It was a surprisingly easy recipe: no creaming of butter (it uses oil instead) and all done in one bowl. I didn’t use cloves because I didn’t feel like grinding the whole cloves I’ve got and I don’t have any ground cloves. (Note to self: make up some pumpkin pie spice as some point.)

I discovered after I made my first dozen that I’d run out of muffin liners. So the first dozen were lined and much larger than the second batch. I wound up with a total of 21 muffins, though I suspect if I’d made them all unlined I probably would have had two dozen or maybe a little more. In any event, there were none left by the end of last night’s game, so I call this recipe a rousing success.

(Recipe behind the cut.)

Pumpkin Muffins

4 eggs
1 cup oil
3 cups sugar
2 cups pureed pumpkin
3 1/2 cups flour
2 tsp baking soda
1 tsp salt
1 tsp cinnamon
1 tsp nutmeg
pinch cloves
1/3 cup water

Cream first 4 ingredients together. Add all others and mix. Bake at 350F for 20-22 minutes. (Julie’s note: The bigger lined batch took about 24 minutes for me, and the smaller unlined batch took about 21.)

Tagged: , , ,

Leave a Reply

