Curried butternut squash and red lentil soup

Oh, my God, this one came out fantastic. Definitely a keeper. A lot.

I got the recipe by searching around the net for butternut squash recipes, since I love butternut squash and now’s the time for it. I stuck pretty close to the recipe. I think the only change I made was using pre-mixed curry powder instead of the turmeric in Martha’s curry powder recipe, and I also replaced the fresh ginger with 1/8 tsp ground ginger, added in with the rest of the spices. (Both substitutions because I didn’t have the product at hand.) Also, instead of the two 14.5-oz cans of broth and 2 cups of water, I used one 10-oz can of condensed chicken broth and then filled the can about three and a half times with water, which I think works out to the same volume of liquid.

Oh, and at the very end, I used a hand blender to make it a puréed soup instead of a broth-plus-chunks soup.

People, this thing is phenomenal. It’s a perfect soup for a cold fall evening. Seriously. You owe it to yourselves to make this.

Tagged: , , ,

Leave a Reply

