Biscuits (redux)

Okay, I may have just stumbled across the world’s greatest biscuit recipe. Since trying to make biscuits for the first time last month, I’ve been playing around with the recipe. I wasn’t 100% happy with it. It was pleasant enough, but it was a bit tough and a bit lacking in sweetness.

After a number of different experiments, I think I just hit the home run. Unlike the first time, they’re very fluffy, decently sweet, and absolutely divine hot. I haven’t tried them at room temperature yet, and I suspect if Marc were here, they wouldn’t last that long. (I’ve got guests coming over at some point, so the biscuits may not make it that long anyway.)

In any case, here’s the new and updated recipe. Because I love you and want you to be happy like I am. (And, yes, I convert all my recipes to weight values. It means I only have one spoon and one bowl to clean up at the end of my baking.)

(Recipe behind the cut.)

Biscuits

• 2 cups (300 g) all-purpose flour
• 3 teaspoons (11 g) baking powder
• 1/4 teaspoon of salt
• 1 cup (240 g) heavy cream (35%)
• 3 tablespoons (60 g) honey

In a bowl, combine flour, baking powder and salt.
Add in cream and honey; stir just until blended.
Drop by rounded tablespoonfuls onto a parchment-lined baking sheet.
Bake at 400 degrees F for 10-12 minutes or until golden brown.
Makes 8.

Tagged: , , ,

Leave a Reply

