Roast vegetables and tomato sauce

As I mentioned last time, all the knife practice exercises I’ve been doing this week have left me with quite a lot of vegetables leftovers. Today my boss decided that it’s slow enough in the office that we were entitled to a one-day spring break, so I decided to put some of my newfound cooking skills to use.

Just over two hours in the kitchen resulted in the following:
– one and a half trays of roasted carrots (most of a 2-lb bag)
– half a tray of roasted zucchini (one zucchini’s worth)
– two trays of kale chips (half a bunch of kale, roasted)
– a small pot of tomato sauce (about a 15-oz can’s worth)

Now, this might seem like a lot, and indeed it looked like a lot before I went through the roasting / sauce making process, but by the end, it looked like a whole lot less. The roasted carrots were so good that I kept munching them. A lot. The entire bag of carrots, raw, make me think, “Oh, dear God, who could possibly eat so many carrots?” After roasting, it was more like, “Yeah, I could totally eat all of these right now.” Ditto for the kale chips.

So in the end, I’ve got about two cups of roasted carrots, a tiny amount of roasted zucchini (not as good as the carrots: still very mushy — I’ll have to find a better way of cooking them), and a soup-bowl of kale chips.

The tomato sauce did not turn out as good as the roast vegetables. It’s… okay. But it’s got that very acidic, “Whoa, I’m a TOMATO!” feel to it. I added some sugar, which cut the edge a bit, but not as much as I’d like. It might be because I added an entire can of tomato paste. See, I didn’t want more leftovers, and there was a whole lotta juice that needed to get thickened up, and… Yeah. I may have overdone it. Just a bit. *looks down shamefully*

In any event, I find it okay. Marc doesn’t really like it. I’ll probably spoon some over the pan-fried chicken that I’m making tonight as my next Rouxbe lesson, and then have the rest with some pasta or something.

I’m still amazed at what looked like so much raw vegetables turned into so little cooked vegetables. It’s barely enough for a couple of servings. I can’t imagine how many vegetables I’d need to buy if I wanted to have enough for a whole week! Am I the only one who feels this way?

Tagged: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

