Hard-boiled egg

Okay, you’re all going to laugh at me this time. I apparently can’t make hard-boiled eggs. I am the laughingstock of the culinary world.

See, I wanted to make some hard-boiled eggs for salads. I used the Rouxbe method: bring cold salted water to a boil, add eggs, reduce heat to a simmer, set timer for 12 minutes, then when the time’s up place eggs into an ice bath to stop cooking and prevent the grey ring around the yolk that has been a feature of every single hard-boiled egg I’ve ever eaten. I let mine sit under running cold water because I don’t have ice in the house right now, but what the heck. If they had the grey ring, I’d live.

Left them in the fridge until dinnertime. Took one out. Cracked it on the counter. The whites were still runny, let alone the yolk!

I think what did it in the end is that my “simmer” was closer to a “poach.” I know, I know: bad chef, walking away from the kitchen before verifying the temperature. Mea maxima culpa.

Anyway, they’re back in some hot water now. (New method: put eggs in cold salted water, bring to a boil, take off heat, let sit for 20 minutes, drain and cover with cold water, let sit for 15 minutes.) They will almost undoubtedly have the grey ring. I honestly don’t care at this point.

So… there you go. My shameful confession. You may all take this brief moment to revel in your superior technique and let me know how you make your hard-boiled eggs.

Update: After the second cooking (method mentioned in penultimate paragraph), the eggs are actually perfect: hard-cooked all the way through but no sulfur ring. Yay!

Tagged: , , ,

Leave a Reply

