Sweet Indian lassi

Sweet Indian lassi

Sweet Indian lassi

For a few days, I’ve been craving mango lassi, but haven’t been able to get anywhere that sells it. So I decided to make it myself. Problem #1: I didn’t have any mangos at home, and all the stores were closed. However, I’ve seen recipes for “sweet lassi” that don’t actually contain any fruit, so I decided to base myself on those.

Into the container for my hand blender went about 3/4 cup plain Greek yogurt (the 3.25% fat kind), 1/2 cup cold water, 3 tsp sugar, 1/4 tsp cinnamon (it should have been cardamom, but I don’t have any cardamom in the house), a splash of vanilla, and a pinch of salt. Blend the whole thing up until it’s smooth, serve over lots of ice cubes.

In the end, the texture was just about right (maybe just slightly too thin). The taste, though… Weirdly, it tasted like apple pie with ice cream. Must be the mixture of cinnamon and vanilla, because there weren’t any apples in there. Very tasty, but just… unexpected. Marc and I both enjoyed it, and I’d probably make it again. It’s very easy, very fast, and uses stuff I’ve got on hand. (Though I’d love to get some cardamom to try it “for real.”)

Tagged: ,

Leave a Reply

