Batch Cooking – September 1, 2023

2023-08-31 Groceries annotated2023-09-01 Cooked annotated

A probably over-ambitious week of batch cooking, complicated even further by a cut I got during prep that was bad enough I needed a friend to come over to help me deal with it. (It’s fine – I’m just very squeamish and it was worse than my usual cuts.) I was trying to find recipes that used up some leftovers from last week, but didn’t account for the fact that they were all very hands-on, prep-intensive recipes. Oops. Now that I’m moving back into normal church-year hours, I’ll probably need to simply WAY down again starting next week.

That said, it all got done in the end, hand injury and all. And I, for one, am proud of me. Here’s what’s on the menu this week:

  • Lunches: vegan mac and “cheese” with peas and roast broccoli, panko breadcrumbs
  • Suppers: falafel pitas (whole wheat pita, baked herby green-pea-and-chickpea falafels, store-bought hummus, cherry tomatoes, red cabbage, yellow bell peppers, herbed yogurt sauce)
  • Snacks: apple brown betty (a baked apple dish like crisp or cobbler but with crumbled-up leftover hamburger buns instead of a crust or topping)

The brown betty is a new-to-me recipe, the other two are recipes I’ve made before. Should be tasty! Hopefully it makes up for the injury I incurred in making it!

Tagged: , , ,

Leave a comment